Timeline


watson_historique_en
watson_signature
For the past 140 years, Watson Venne s.e.n.c.r.l./LLP and its predecessor firms known under the names of

W. de M. Marler (1872-1900)

W. de M. Marler (1872-1900)

W. de M. & H. M. Marler (1900-1960)

McLean Herschorn Marler Common & Tees (1960-1962)

McLean Marler Common & Tees (1962-1970)

McLean Marler Tees Watson Poitevin Javet & Roberge (1970-1979)

Marler Tees Watson Poitevin Javet & Roberge (1979-1981)

Tees Watson Poitevin Javet & Roberge (1981-1985)

Tees Watson Poitevin Javet Roberge Stephenson Corn Whitney & Lapointe (1985-1988)

Watson Poitevin Javet Roberge Stephenson Corn Whitney & Lapointe (1988-1991)

Watson Poitevin (1991-1996)

Watson Poitevin Turcot Prévost (1996-2012)

have provided their clients sound legal advice and careful guidance in the conduct of their business affairs.
It began when William de Montmollin Marler was sworn as a Notary at Montreal in 1872. He was followed by Edouard Cholette, his son Sir Herbert M. Marler, Herbert B. McLean, another son George C. Marler, Herbert H. Tees, John H. Watson and Henri Poitevin, to name but a few. Proud of its reputation, earned and maintained for well over a century, for meeting the ever-changing requirements of its clients – important financial institutions and others majors corporations, business enterprises and individuals – the firm continues its growth in providing services of the highest calibre, with special emphasis on corporate and commercial matters.

 

Experience makes
the difference

Expertise

  • Persons and Family Law

    The representation of our close relatives, whether minor or of full age, may be quite an ordeal, and the procedures required to protect them may be tainted with subtleties. Our firm can assist you during this hardship.

    Families in Quebec are unique and deserve to be well protected. Our firm benefits from a respectable experience in the protection of married or de facto spouses. Our personalised approach meets the needs of our clientele.

  • Wills, Estates and Taxation

    Estate planning is efficient when it meets the client’s objectives and is developed in light of its importance. It may include Wills (with provisions even to protect your pets), Marriage or Conjugal Contracts, strategic charitable Donations, Powers of Attorney or Protective Mandates and Trusts, the whole coordinated to minimize tax implications. Since its foundation, the firm’s experience in these matters has continually benefitted its numerous clients.

  • Real Estate

    The firm’s reputation in Real Estate is most enviable, having earned same through its participation in the acquisition, financing, construction and development of multi-residential immovable complexes, office buildings, shopping centres and industrial buildings throughout the Province of Quebec.

  • Commercial and Corporate Law

    Small and medium-sized businesses are commonly confronted with multiple commercial and corporate matters for which the members of our firm may provide guidance. Our personalised services meet our clients’ needs and include corporate governance, mergers, acquisitions, and private commercial reorganisations and the financing of various projects.

Professionals

Pierre Venne
V-Card

Contact

1100 Cremazie Blvd. East, office 805, Montréal (QC) H2P 2X2

tel.: 514-866-9671  fax: 514-866-9672

Historique

watson_historique

watson_signature

Héritière de plus de 140 années d’expérience, l’étude Watson Venne s.e.n.c.r.l./LLP
est la continuité et le successeur de celles autrefois connues sous les noms de
W. de M. Marler (1872-1900)
W. de M. & H. M. Marler (1900-1960)
McLean Herschorn Marler Common & Tees (1960-1962)
McLean Marler Common & Tees (1962-1970)
McLean Marler Tees Watson Poitevin Javet & Roberge (1970-1979)
Marler Tees Watson Poitevin Javet & Roberge (1979-1981)
Tees Watson Poitevin Javet & Roberge (1981 – 1985)
Tees Watson Poitevin Javet Roberge Stephenson Corn Whitney & Lapointe (1985-1988)
Watson Poitevin Javet Roberge Stephenson Corn Whitney & Lapointe (1988-1991)
Watson Poitevin (1991-1996)
Watson Poitevin Turcot Prévost (1996-2012)
L’histoire commence lorsque William de Montmollin Marler fut assermenté notaire à Montréal en 1872. D’autres se joignirent par la suite à lui, dont Edouard Cholette, son fils Sir Herbert M. Marler, Herbert B. McLean, un autre fils George C. Marler, Herbert H. Tees, John H. Watson et Henri Poitevin, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. L’étude a connu une croissance continue, s’efforçant de satisfaire aux besoins sans cesse grandissants et de plus en plus complexes d’une clientèle formée de grandes institutions financières, de grandes corporations et de petites et moyennes entreprises.

L’expérience fait
la différence


Champs de pratique

  • Droit des personnes et de la famille

    La représentation de nos proches, mineur ou majeur inapte, peut être une épreuve difficile, et les procédures requises pour les protéger peuvent être teintées de subtilités. Notre étude peut vous aider à traverser ces périodes difficiles.

    Les familles au Québec sont uniques et méritent d’être protégées et bien encadrées. Notre étude bénéficie d’une expérience appréciable dans la protection des droits des couples mariés ou en union de fait. Notre approche est adaptée aux besoins de notre clientèle.

  • Testaments, successions et fiscalité

    Une planification testamentaire est efficace lorsqu’elle répond aux objectifs du client et peut être maximisée lorsqu’elle est élaborée en fonction de la fortune à transmettre. La planification testamentaire peut comprendre des testaments (visant même la protection des animaux), des contrats matrimoniaux ou conjugaux, une stratégie de dons de charité, des procurations ou mandats de protection et des fiducies, le tout coordonné pour réduire les incidences de l’impôt sur le revenu. En raison du nombre d’années depuis sa fondation, l’étude a acquis une expérience dont profite actuellement sa nombreuse clientèle.

  • Droit Immobilier

    L’étude bénéficie d’une réputation enviable dans le domaine du droit immobilier. Notre vaste expérience a été acquise dans le cadre de l’acquisition, du financement, de la construction et du développement de complexes immobiliers multi-résidentiels, d’immeubles de bureaux, de centres commerciaux et d’immeubles industriels partout au Québec.

  • Droit des sociétés et droit commercial

    Dans le cadre de notre pratique en droit des sociétés et en droit commercial, les membres de l’étude peuvent répondre à une multitude de questions de nature corporative et commerciale auxquelles est confrontée toute petite ou moyenne entreprise. Notre service personnalisé répond aux besoins de nos clients, lesquels comprennent la gouvernance d’entreprise, les fusions, acquisitions et réorganisations commerciales privées et le financement de divers projets.

Professionnels

Pierre Venne
Carte virtuelle

Contact

1100 boulevard Crémazie Est, bureau 805, Montréal (QC) H2P 2X2

tél.: 514-866-9671  téléc. : 514-866-9672